Hope for Life - A Weekly Newsletter from Dr. Casey B. Hough
A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing
Are You Wise?
0:00
-4:37

Are You Wise?

A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing (6/12/2023)

A Verse

Proverbs 12:15

The way of fools seems right to them,
but the wise listen to advice.

A Comment

This morning’s verse is short but profound. It is a proverb of Solomon that contrasts the foolish person with the wise person. This type of comparison happens throughout the book of Proverbs, so this singular verse is by no means exhaustive. However, it gives us a glimpse into one of the key differences between foolish and wise people.

According to our passage, the fool is self-assured about their way. They believe that they are in the right. And they refuse to consider the possibility that they are wrong. They do not seek advice or counsel from others. By way of contrast, the wise person listens to advice. The implication here is that the wise person seeks out the counsel of others. They ask questions. They examine their motives and their emotions. They have safeguards that keep them from the way of the fool who assumes that they are always right.

As I reflected on this passage, I was reminded of the importance of having people in my life who counsel me. If I would be protected from foolishness, then I need others to speak into my life. But it’s more than simply having people who speak into my life. It is also a matter of me being willing to heed their counsel.

Do you have these types of people in your life? Do you listen to the advice of others? Or do you assume that you are always right?

A Prayer

Would you pray with me?

A Blessing

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

0 Comments