Hope for Life - A Weekly Newsletter from Dr. Casey B. Hough
A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing
As the Deer...
0:00
-4:35

As the Deer...

A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing (12/11/2023)

A Verse

Psalm 42:1

As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, my God.

A Comment

Most of us live with a water deficit. That rarely means that we do not have water available to us. Instead, it means that we seldom avail ourselves to the available water. We prefer other drinks.

As I was reflecting upon this psalm this morning, I was encouraged by the words of St. Augustine that I would like to share with you. In his expositions of Psalm 42, Augustine wrote,

Let us burn together with this thirst; let us run together to the fountain of understanding. Let us … long rather for it as a hart yearns for a spring … let us long for the wellspring of which Scripture says, “With you is the fountain of life.” … Long for the fountains of water. With God is the fountain of life, a fountain that can never dry up.… God has everything that will refresh you. He is able to fill anyone who comes to him.… This is what I am thirsting for, to reach him and to appear before him. I am thirsty on my pilgrimage, parched in my running, but I will be totally satisfied when I arrive.

This comment from Augustine both encourages and challenges me. I am encouraged by the assurance that “the fountain of life” is with God. With God, my spiritual thirst is quenched and satisfied. Yet, I am challenged by the fact that I rarely thirst for God as a deer that pants for water.

I believe many of us live not only with a physical water deficit but also with a spiritual water deficit. We need the water of life, but we do not pant for it. We prefer substitutes. And, as a result, we are not as healthy as we should be.

My prayer this morning is that we would thirst for God and run to Him.

A Prayer

Would you join me in praying for God to increase our thirst for Him this morning?

A Blessing

May the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

0 Comments