Hope for Life - A Weekly Newsletter from Dr. Casey B. Hough
A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing
His Way is Perfect
0:00
-2:07

His Way is Perfect

A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing (1/25/2023)

A Verse

2 Samuel 22:31

As for God, his way is perfect;
The LORD’s word is flawless;
he shields all who take refuge in him.

A Comment

As I read David’s song of praise, I could not help but reflect on these words. David’s life was full of God’s favor and discipline. Favor for his faithfulness to the covenant and discipline for his unfaithfulness to the covenant. He conquered the LORD’s enemies, but he also experience great personal loss due to his sin. Yet, as he neared the end of his life, David praised the LORD for his perfect ways, which were revealed in His word.

As I think on my own life, I desire to have the same response to the LORD and His way. I want to remember, even in the turmoil and upheaval that I encounter that the LORD “shields all who take refuge in Him.” David’s temptation, as is our own, is to find refuge in our own wisdom, abilities, and accomplishments. This, however, should not be the case. We must remember that our only refuge is in the perfect way of the LORD, who has shown us His way in His word.

A Prayer

Would you pray with me?

A Blessing

Therefore, my beloved brothers and sisters, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

0 Comments