Hope for Life - A Weekly Newsletter from Dr. Casey B. Hough
A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing
Is There Room for God in Your Life?
0:00
-4:51

Is There Room for God in Your Life?

A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing (with a Bonus) (2/9/2023)

A Verse

Psalm 10:4

In his pride the wicked man does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.

A Comment

Last night, I was sitting in a parking lot waiting for my youngest son to finish an indoor rock climbing session and a song came on the radio that I had never heard. It was entitled “Make Room,” and the lyrics in the chorus are sung to God, which says, “I will make room for you, to do whatever you want to.” Initially, I wasn’t really sure what to make of the song. Was this idea of making room for God a biblical concept? Is the God of the universe, the one who upholds everything by the word of His power, subject to my willingness to “make room for him?”

After the song went off, I didn’t think much more about it, until this morning as I was reading through Psalm 10. As this morning’s passage says, “In his pride the wicked man does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.” Admittedly, I kind of froze. There it was. Right there in the text. But not like I had originally imagined it. You see, Psalm 10 states negatively what the song states positively. It is the prideful man who has no regard for God in his thoughts. He believes he prospers by his own strength. He rejects the Lord’s will for his life. He is confident in his own future. He has no room for God.

By contrast, the humble person makes room for God, which is not to stay that God is subject to our willingness, but rather to say that a humble, God-fearing person, acknowledges their need for God. To “make room” for God is not to grant him permission. As Psalm 115:3 tells us, “Our God is in the heavens, he does all that he pleases.” No, to “make room” is not to grant the King of the Universe permission but rather to bring our lives into humble submission and conformity to his kingship over us. It it to “make room” for his word in our lives. It is to look to him in dependence and trust.

The proud have no room for God. The humble have nothing but room for God. For they understand that apart from Him, they can do nothing (John 15:5)

So, in his grace, the Lord corrected my cynical pride and showed me my need to make room for him in my life.

A Prayer

Will you pray with me?

A Blessing

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

A Bonus

0 Comments