Hope for Life - A Weekly Newsletter from Dr. Casey B. Hough
A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing
Preach to Your Soul
1
0:00
-4:06

Preach to Your Soul

A Verse, A Comment, A Prayer, A Blessing (12/21/2023)
1

A Verse

Psalm 62:5

Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.

A Comment

Psalm 62 is one of my favorite psalms. I love how it begins with David’s insistence on finding rest in God. It’s a declaration in verse 1. However, in verse 5, David moves from a declaration to a command. Instead of simply declaring that God is his rest, David must also remind himself that God is his rest.

This resonates with me deeply. Just because I know something to be true, it doesn’t mean that I always live as if what I know is actually true. Some days, I have to preach to my own soul to live out what I believe. This is what David is doing in verse 5. He is applying what he knows of God to his life. He is preaching to his own soul.

You may find yourself in a similar place this morning. You know certain truths about God, but you need to be reminded to act upon those truths. You know that God is the ultimate source of your rest, but you need to direct your soul to him. So, whether you are living at rest in God or you are weary because you have sought rest in other people or things, heed the words of David. Tell your soul, “Find rest in God.”

A Prayer

Would you pray with me?

A Blessing

May God be gracious to us and bless us
and make his face shine upon us -
so that your ways may be known on earth,
your salvation among all nations. (Psalm 67:1)

1 Comment